Home INDIA Congress Drops Leader As Poll Pick Amid Row Over Remarks On Kangana Ranaut

Congress Drops Leader As Poll Pick Amid Row Over Remarks On Kangana Ranaut

0 comment
Congress Drops Leader As Poll Pick Amid Row Over Remarks On Kangana Ranaut


Supriya Shrinate caused a huge row with an attacking post on Kangana Ranaut (File)

New Delhi:

The Congress today dropped Supriya Shrinate as its candidate from the constituency she contested in 2019, amid widespread outrage over her comments on actor Kangana Ranaut, the BJP’s pick from Himachal Pradesh’s Mandi.

Ms Shrinate had contested the last Lok Sabha polls from Maharajganj in Uttar Pradesh but lost to BJP’s Pankaj Chaudhary.

This time, the Congress has named Virendra Chaudhary as its pick from the seat and dropped Ms Shrinate, who was in a huge political vortex over her post on Kangana Ranaut.

On Monday, an offensive post was made on Ms Shrinate’s Instagram account with a photo of Ms Ranaut and a derogatory caption. Ms. Shrinate immediately made it clear that several people have access to her social media accounts, and one of them made the inappropriate post.

“As soon as I found out, I deleted that post. Anyone who knows me also knows very well that I can never make personal and indecent comments towards any woman. I wanted to know how this could happen,” she said.

Earlier in the day, the Election Commission issued a show-cause notice to Ms Shrinate over her post.

The Congress on Wednesday announced its eighth list for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, with 14 candidates for four states: Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Telangana and Jharkhand. The party has announced 208 candidates so far.

The party has fielded Rao Yadvendra Singh against Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia in Madhya Pradesh’s Guna and Pratap Bhanu Sharma against former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan in Vidisha. Tarvar Singh Lodhi has been nominated by Damoh.

In Jharkhand, it named Kalicharan Munda from Khunti (ST), Sukhdeo Bhagat from Lohardaga (ST) and Jaiprakashbhai Patel from Hazaribagh parliamentary constituencies.

In Telangana, the party featured Suguna Kumari Chelimala from Adilabad, Tatiparthi Jeevan Reddy from Nizamabad, Neelam Madhu from Medak and Chamala Kiran Kumar Reddy from Bhongir.

In Uttar Pradesh, the Congress nominated Dolly Sharma from Ghaziabad, Nakul Dubey from Sitapur, Shivram Valmiki from Bulandshahr (SC) seat and Virendra Chaudhary from Maharajganj.

You may also like