The history of Coca-Cola bottles with yellow caps, which are kosher for Passover

REVEALED: Why should you see Coca-Cola bottles with special YELLOW caps in the aisles of the supermarket

  • Every spring, Coca-Cola sells bottles with yellow caps instead of red ones for a few weeks
  • For the shoppers, the caps mean that the soft drink is kosher for the Passover
  • This year Passover is from sunset on April 19 to sunset on April 27
  • Observant Jews do not eat anything made with a leavening agent, such as wheat or corn – so high fructose corn syrup is out and sucrose is in
  • Coca-Cola began selling the Passover version kosher in the 1930s after being lobbied by an Atlanta rabbi

Coca-Cola drinkers may have noticed something different about their favorite soft drink this month.

Although bottles of diet coke and diet coke typically have red caps that match the red in the logo, for a few weeks each jug bottle was covered with yellow caps in supermarket aisles.

Those yellow caps mean that the bottles are kosher for Passover, a Jewish holiday celebrated in March or April.

Seder nipt: some Coca-Cola bottles are sold with yellow caps to indicate that they are kosher for Passover

Seder nipt: some Coca-Cola bottles are sold with yellow caps to indicate that they are kosher for Passover

Why is this Coke different from all other coke? The cap also contains language to indicate that it is kosher for Passover

Why is this Coke different from all other coke? The cap also contains language to indicate that it is kosher for Passover

Why is this Coke different from all other coke? The cap also contains language to indicate that it is kosher for Passover

Coke is kosher certified all year round, but being kosher for Passover is something else.

Passover celebrates Moses leading the Jews from Egypt, after which they roamed the desert for 40 years and could only eat unleavened bread.

During the Passover, which lasts eight days, observant Jews do not eat food made with leavening agent, which includes everything made with wheat and – for most Jews – corn.

Dedication: Coke has been kosher for the Passover version for decades after working with a rabbi who wanted to ensure that his members could still drink the soft drink during the holidays

Dedication: Coke has been kosher for the Passover version for decades after working with a rabbi who wanted to ensure that his members could still drink the soft drink during the holidays

Dedication: Coke has been kosher for the Passover version for decades after working with a rabbi who wanted to ensure that his members could still drink the soft drink during the holidays

The problem is that cola is sweetened with fructose glucose syrup.

It wasn't always. The original recipe actually used sucrose, and when it changed in the 1930s, observant Jews were left without coke in front of their Easter tables.

That's when Rabbi Tobias Geffen arrived from Atlanta, lobbied at Coca-Cola to offer a kosher for the Passover version during the holidays.

& # 39; Because Coca-Cola has already been accepted by the general public in this country and Canada and because it has become an insurmountable problem to persuade the vast majority of Jews not to use this drink, I have tried seriously to find a method for its use, "he said, according to Time.

The company heard its plea and worked with the rabbi to offer the kosher for Passover version in markets with large Jewish populations every year.

& # 39; Our Jewish customers wanted to drink Coca-Cola during the Easter party, and it was up to us to find a way to get it certified as Kosher & # 39 ;, explains Ted Ryan, director of heritage communication for Coca Cola.

The rules: Observant Jews do not eat anything made with leavening agents for the eight days of Passover - so the fructose-corn syrup in cola made from corn is out

The rules: Observant Jews do not eat anything made with leavening agents for the eight days of Passover - so the fructose-corn syrup in cola made from corn is out

The rules: Observant Jews do not eat anything made with leavening agents for the eight days of Passover – so the fructose-corn syrup in cola made from corn is out

Goes well with matzoh: Kosher for Passover soda uses sucrose as in the original colokecept, and is available for a few weeks per spring

Goes well with matzoh: Kosher for Passover soda uses sucrose as in the original colokecept, and is available for a few weeks per spring

Goes well with matzoh: Kosher for Passover soda uses sucrose as in the original colokecept, and is available for a few weeks per spring

& # 39; We respond to the question, so we have Coke Zero and Diet Coke. We make products that people want to drink and if a large percentage of our Jewish consumers want us to produce a kosher cola, we have to offer one, & he added.

So in the spring, Coca-Cola changes the recipe to use sucrose for a few weeks, and indicates which bottles are different with a yellow cap.

The cap also has O-U-P and Hebrew letters are on the top with regard to its kosher status.

The bottles have been in stores for more than a week, such as in New York, Los Angeles and Boston.

This year Pesach started at sunset on April 19 and ended at sunset on April 27. The holiday changes every year because it corresponds to dates on the Hebrew calendar, which is different from the Gregorian calendar, which uses most of the world.

The Hebrew calendar usually has 354 days a year, although the number is 384 in a leap year. The current Hebrew year is 5779.

Advertisement