Home INDIA Rohit Sharma Completes Rare And Historic ‘Double Century’ For Mumbai Indians | Cricket News

Rohit Sharma Completes Rare And Historic ‘Double Century’ For Mumbai Indians | Cricket News

0 comment
Rohit Sharma Completes Rare And Historic 'Double Century' For Mumbai Indians | Cricket News

Mumbai Indians (MI) star batsman and former Indian Premier League (IPL) captain Rohit Sharma will play his 200th match in the competition for his franchise on Wednesday. He has been named in the playing XI for the match against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. SRH and MI will go head-to-head in an IPL 2024 clash in Hyderabad. Both teams started with narrow losses of four runs and six runs against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Gujarat Titans (GT) respectively in their campaign openers.

Rohit has been an absolute legend for Mumbai Indians. Since joining the franchise as an emerging talent in 2011, Rohit has played 199 IPL matches in blue and gold, scoring 5,084 runs at an average of 29.39 and a strike rate of 129.86. He scored a century and 34 fifties in 195 innings for MI, with a best score of 109*.

After taking over the captaincy of the franchise from Ricky Ponting in 2013, Rohit took MI to their golden era, winning the trophy five times in ten years (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020) and the reached the play-offs. Hardik Pandya replaced him as captain last year after a move to the franchise that made him a star after two stellar years with the Gujarat Titans (GT), including the title-winning debut season in 2022.

Rohit has also won two Champions League T20 titles with MI in 2011 and 2013, the latter as captain. The ‘Hitman’ is MI’s highest run-getter of all time, scoring 5,357 runs in 208 matches and 204 innings at an average of 29.59 and a strike rate of almost 130, with a century and 35 fifties in 204 innings.

As a youngster, Rohit also represented the now defunct Deccan Chargers, a former franchise from Hyderabad from 2008-2010. He played 45 matches for the team, scoring 1,170 runs at an average of 30.79 and a strike rate of over 131, with eight fifties in 44 innings. His best score was 76*. With this franchise, he won the 2009 IPL season, making him a six-time IPL champion.

The veteran batsman is the fourth highest run-getter in IPL history, scoring 6,254 runs in 244 matches at an average of 29.63 and a strike rate of 130.15. He scored a century and 42 fifties in 239 innings, with a best score of 109*.

As someone who has led MI for so long, Rohit is an institution in his own right, with him and MI shaping the career paths of many future Indian stars like Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Tilak Varma, Ambati Rayadu, etc. .

Sunrisers Hyderabad squad: Mayank Agarwal, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen (w), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Marco Jansen, Pat Cummins (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Markande, T Natarajan, Travis Head, Glenn Phillips, Washington Sundar, Jaydev Unadkat, Anmolpreet Singh, Upendra Yadav, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Umran Malik, Jhatavedh Subramanyan, Sanvir Singh, Akash Maharaj Singh, Nitish Reddy

Mumbai Indians team:Ishan Kishan(w), Rohit Sharma, Dewald Brevis, Tilak Varma, Tim David, Hardik Pandya(c), Shams Mulani, Gerald Coetzee, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah, Luke Wood, Naman Dhir, Romario Shepherd, Mohammad Nabi, Shreyas Gopal , Vishnu Vinod, Arjun Tendulkar, Nehal Wadhera, Kumar Kartikeya, Shivalik Sharma, Anshul Kamboj, Akash Madhwal, Nuwan Alsohara, Kwena Maphaka.

Topics mentioned in this article

You may also like