Home INDIA Poll Body Notice To Chandrababu Naidu Over ‘Derogatory’ Remarks Against Jagan Reddy

Poll Body Notice To Chandrababu Naidu Over ‘Derogatory’ Remarks Against Jagan Reddy

0 comment
Poll notice to Chandrababu Naidu for 'derogatory' comments against Jagan Reddy

The Election Commission has assessed the relevant speeches, which were submitted in a pen drive.


The Election Commission has issued notice to Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief N Chandrababu Naidu for allegedly making derogatory remarks against Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy.

The TDP chief was served a notice on Thursday for allegedly violating the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) during his campaign speeches on March 31 by allegedly referring to CM Jagan as ‘Monster’, ‘Animal’, ‘Thief’ and several others offensive terms. .

According to the notice issued by the Chief Electoral Officer of Andhra Pradesh, Naidu has been given 48 hours to explain the derogatory remarks made against the YSR Congress Party and its leader YS Jagan Mohan Reddy.

The notice was issued following a complaint filed by Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) State General Secretary Lella Appi Reddy and another person.

According to the notice, during his campaign rallies in Yemmiganur, Markapuram and Bapatla constituencies, TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu allegedly used derogatory language, referring to Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy as a monster, animal, thief and various other insulting and offensive terms.

The Election Commission has reviewed the relevant speeches, which were provided in a pen drive, and found that they are prima facie contrary to the provisions of the Model Code of Conduct.

The Assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh are scheduled for May 13, and counting of votes is scheduled for June 4.

Notably, the Andhra Pradesh Assembly has 175 seats and a party needs at least 88 seats to form a government.

In the 2014 Assembly elections, the Chandrababu Naidu-led TDP won with a majority of 102 seats. The Jagan Mohan Reddy-led YSRCP won 67 seats. The BJP could win only four seats contesting the two regional heavyweights.

In the 2019 Assembly elections, the YSRCP won with an overwhelming majority of 151 seats, while the TDP was limited to 23 seats.

The election to 543 Lok Sabha seats in the country will be held in seven phases from April 19. The counting of votes for the Lok Sabha and its assemblies will take place on June 4.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by WhatsNew2Day staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

You may also like