Home INDIA IPL 2024 Full Schedule: Venues And Timings For All 10 Franchises | Cricket News

IPL 2024 Full Schedule: Venues And Timings For All 10 Franchises | Cricket News

0 comment
IPL 2024 Full Schedule: Venues And Timings For All 10 Franchises | Cricket News

Chennai was on Monday declared the venue of this year’s IPL final on May 26 and was also given the hosting rights for the second qualifier on May 24 as the BCCI unveiled the complete schedule of the tournament, taking into account the election dates for the upcoming Lok Sabha -elections. Chennai got the final because Chennai Super Kings are the defending champions. The title holders may organize the opening and final matches of the tournament according to the established convention. The event started on March 22 after the BCCI announced the schedule for the first two weeks (21 matches) only. The other two important play-off matches will be hosted at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 21 and 22 respectively. PTI had announced the venues of the last four matches of the tournament on Friday.

“The rest of the schedule has been prepared keeping in mind the election dates and locations for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections across the country,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a press release.

“After a break on May 20, the spotlight will shift to the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, where the world’s largest cricket stadium will host an exciting Qualifier 1 match featuring two top sides on Tuesday, May 21, followed by the thrilling Eliminator on Wednesday, May 21. 22nd.

“…the Qualifier 2 and Grand Final will take place in Chennai, home of reigning champions Chennai Super Kings. The Qualifier 2, which will be played between the loser of Qualifier 1 and the winner of the Eliminator, will take place on Friday 24 May, followed by the summit clash on Sunday, May 26,” he added.

The iconic Chepauk will host the IPL final long after the polling concludes in Tamil Nadu on April 19 for the 39 Lok Sabha seats in the first phase of elections.

Delhi Capitals, who will play their first two home matches in Visakhapatnam on March 31 and April 3, will play five matches at their actual base. These matches are scheduled for April 20, 24, 27, May 7 and 14.

The elections to the seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi will take place on May 25.

Should CSK win the entire tournament, the big matches at Chepauk will be a perfect opportunity for Mahendra Singh Dhoni to end his IPL career in front of the home fans, as widely speculated after he handed over the captaincy of the team to Ruturaj Gaikwad at the eve of the competition opener.

“Punjab Kings, who started their season at the PCA New International Cricket Stadium in Mullanpur, will culminate their home campaign in Dharamsala. Punjab will host two matches in Dharamsala on May 5 and 9 against CSK and RCB respectively,” the BCCI release said. .

Rajasthan Royals will also play a number of matches at their second home base Guwahati.

Rajasthan Royals have also opted for a second venue in Guwahati and will play their last two home matches in Assam. They will first host Punjab Kings on May 15 and later against Kolkata Knight Riders on May 19, which will also be the conclusion of the match. competition phase of the 17th season of IPL,” the release said.

Topics mentioned in this article

You may also like