Home INDIA “If Not As MP…”: Dropped By BJP, Varun Gandhi’s Emotional Note To Pilibhit

“If Not As MP…”: Dropped By BJP, Varun Gandhi’s Emotional Note To Pilibhit

by Alexander
0 comment
'If not as an MP...': Dropped by BJP, Varun Gandhi's emotional note to Pilibhit


Varun Gandhi is a two-time MP from Pilibhit in Uttar Pradesh (File).

New Delhi:

Varun Gandhi of the Bharatiya Janata Party – not picked to defend his Lok Sabha seat in Pilibhit of Uttar Pradesh – has written to the people of his soon-to-be former constituency saying that ‘even though my tenure is coming to an end… my relationship ( with you) cannot end until my last breath”.

Mr Gandhi also said he considered himself fortunate to have had the opportunity to “serve the great people of Pilibhit”, and that their “ideals, simplicity and kindness… have contributed immensely to my education and development” . “Being your representative has been the greatest honor of my life and I have always defended your interests to the best of my ability,” the BJP leader said.

“If not as a Member of Parliament, then as a son, I am determined to serve you all my life and my doors will always remain open to you… as before. I entered politics to raise the voice of the common man, and today I seek your blessings to continue doing this work no matter what the cost,” he said.

Varun Gandhi also struck an emotional note in his letter, recalling his introduction to Pilibhit – when he was a three-year-old boy visiting his mother, Maneka Gandhi, in 1983.

“…I remember that three-year-old boy who first came to Pilibhit in 1983, holding his mother’s finger. How could he know that one day this country would become his workplace, and the people here his would be?” family?”

Varun Gandhi letter to Pilibhit

Outgoing BJP MP Varun Gandhi’s open letter to the people of UP’s Pilibhit.

“The relationship between Pilibhit and me is one of love and trust… far beyond any political multiplication. I was, am and will be yours…” Mr Gandhi concluded.

Varun Gandhi is a two-time MP from Pilibhit, a family affair since 1989 when it was won by his mother, Maneka Gandhi. Mrs Gandhi, a noted environmentalist and former Union minister, has won the seat six times, including back-to-back victories as an independent candidate.

In the 2019 elections, Mr Gandhi defeated Hemraj Verma of Samajwadi Party by over 2.55 lakh votes. However, this time the BJP has chosen to completely drop Gandhi’s name.

In recent years, however, the 44-year-old Gandhi has been critical of the government and the policies of his own party. For example, in September last year he criticized the BJP for importing cheetahs from Africa. The comments came after nine cheetahs died in just five months in Madhya Pradesh’s Kuno National Park.


Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s party – which is running for a third consecutive term at the Center – has fielded former Congress leader Jitin Prasada from Pilibhit. He will contest against Samajwadi Party’s Bhagwat Saran Gangwar, who will be the joint candidate of the INDIA opposition bloc.

READ | UP Minister Jitin Prasada will replace Varun Gandhi in the Pilibhit contest

It is unclear whether Gandhi will be fielded from another seat in these elections, or whether he will even stay with the BJP now. However, he does have an invitation from the ‘enemy’: Congress.

Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury has been offered a seat in the party, claiming that the BJP had rejected Mr Gandhi’s ticket due to his connection with the Gandhi family; he is Rahul Gandhi’s cousin.

READ | “Has a clean image”: Adhir Chowdhury wants Varun Gandhi in Congress

“He should come here. We would be happy. He is an educated man. He has a clean image. BJP has denied him ticket as he is related to Gandhi family. I think he should go to Congress must come,” said the congress. leader said.

UP is a key state in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections with 80 seats available. A clean slate, or at least a strong showing, is essential if the BJP is to achieve its target of 370+ seats on its own.

The opposition will consist of Congress and former chief minister Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party; the two have agreed on a 17-to-63 division of state seats.

UP will vote in each of the seven phases of the 2024 elections, starting from April 19 and ending on June 1. The results will be announced on June 4.

WhatsNew2Day is now available on WhatsApp channels. click on the link to get the latest updates from WhatsNew2Day through your chat.

You may also like