Sam Hyde suffers grotesque eye injury because he is stopped in eight rounds by Richard Riakporhe

Sam Hyde suffers gruesome eye damage when he is stopped in eight rounds by Richard Riakporhe in Manchester

  • Sam Hyde suffered a horrible eye injury when he lost to Richard Riakporhe
  • The trainer of the cruiserweight, Joe Gallagher, threw the towel in the eighth round
  • Hyde was on the scorecards of all three judges at the time of the interruption

Sportsmail Reporter

Sam Hyde suffered a gruesome eye injury when he lost eight laps against Richard Riakporhe in Manchester.

The cruiserweight, which had previously been undefeated in 14 games for the Saturday night fight, had to be pulled through his turn after he had a considerable swelling on his left eye.

Hyde was on the scorecards of all three judges at the time of the interruption that arose after he was caught with a thundering right hand from Riakporhe.

Sam Hyde suffered a gruesome eye injury when he lost to Richard Riakporhe on Saturday

Sam Hyde suffered a gruesome eye injury when he lost to Richard Riakporhe on Saturday

Riakporhe did the damage to Hyde's left eye after landing a thundering right hand

Riakporhe did the damage to Hyde's left eye after landing a thundering right hand

Riakporhe did the damage to Hyde's left eye after landing a thundering right hand

The London hunter cleverly followed the cut and it did not take long before he started to swell.

The damage to his left eye was visibly affecting Hyde, whose vision was becoming increasingly limited.

His coach Joe Gallagher could not watch anymore and tossed the towel in the eighth round to halt the game.

Hyde won on three scorecards when Joe Gallgher threw in the towel to stop the fight

Hyde won on three scorecards when Joe Gallgher threw in the towel to stop the fight

Hyde won on three scorecards when Joe Gallgher threw in the towel to stop the fight

The win extended the record from Riakpohre to 8-0 and also provided the WBA Inter-Continental title

The win extended the record from Riakpohre to 8-0 and also provided the WBA Inter-Continental title

The win extended the record from Riakpohre to 8-0 and also provided the WBA Inter-Continental title

& # 39; I was on the scorecards, so I had to get it out of the bag, "said Riakpohre, who is accompanied by Dillian Whyte.

I hit him with a hook, his face swelled, so I raised it. I thought they should throw the towel in the ring.

& # 39; Many people would not have taken this risk in their eighth fight. & # 39;

The victory extended the professional record of Riakpohre to 8-0 and also provided the WBA Inter-Continental title.

.