15.4 C
Tuesday, June 6, 2023
HomeNewsAshes 2023: Sky Sports unveils 21-man commentary squad for this summer's series

Ashes 2023: Sky Sports unveils 21-man commentary squad for this summer’s series


Sky Sports has unveiled a 21-man Ashes squad for commentary with former England captains Eoin Morgan and Kevin Pietersen joined by Australian legends Ricky Ponting and Mark Taylor this summer.

  • Sky Sports has announced the commentary teams for this summer’s Ashes
  • Their squad for men’s cricket will feature Kevin Pietersen and Ricky Ponting
  • Former England players Issa Guha and Lydia Greenway will also take part in women’s cricket

Sky Sports has announced its commentary squads for this summer’s Ashes series, which will feature former England captains Eoin Morgan and Kevin Pietersen and Australian legends Mark Taylor and Ricky Ponting.

The broadcaster unveiled their 21-man squad on Tuesday, with some big hitters as well as some familiar faces completing the lineups.

For the men’s coverage, Sky’s regulars will be joined by Mel Jones, Kumar Sangakkara and Dinesh Karthik with the likes of Ian Ward, Mike Atherton, Mark Butcher and Sportsmail’s Nasir Hussain all providing analysis of the series.

Commentary on The Lord’s Test will be provided by Sir Andrew Strauss, who will dedicate a fundraising day for the Ruth Strauss Foundation.

The 50-plus World Cup-winning England captain signed a deal with Sky when he retired from international cricket last July, and joined the 100-day list of broadcasters thereafter, although he continued to be involved in that competition and others around it. Earth.

Eoin Morgan will also appear

Sky Sports have announced the teams commentating on this summer’s Ashes with former England captain Eoin Morgan (right) and Kevin Pietersen (left).

Australia icon Ricky Ponting (centre), who was the Test captain between 2004-2011, also features

Australia icon Ricky Ponting (centre), who was the Test captain between 2004-2011, also features

Now, the 36-year-old is confirmed to be one of the big names inducted into the 12-man squad for the June-July series.

England legend Petersen will be reunited with old nemesis Ponting, as the duo have locked horns over the years on some of the most memorable Ashes series – but this time they’ll be on the same side.

Ponting, who was Australia’s Test captain during the ‘golden era’ between 2004 and 2011, has won five Ashes series.

Taylor will also join compatriot and former fellow captain in the commentary box at Sky having worked in a similar role on Channel Nine’s cricket coverage on Australian television.

Meanwhile, for The Women’s Ashes, former England internationals Lydia Greenaway, Esa Guha and Charlotte Edwards join Nick Knight, Jones and Mark Butcher in all coverage starting June 22.

The commentators will rotate through the series, with the final test taking place at The Oval on 27-31 July.


• Ian Ward

• Nasser Hussein

• Ricky Ponting

• Mel Jones

• Mark Taylor

• Mike Atherton

• Owen Morgan

• Kevin Petersen

Kumar Sangakkara

• Mark Butcher

• Dinesh Karthik

• Sir Andrew Strauss (Lord test only for the Ruth Strauss Foundation)

• Nick Knight

• Issa Guha

• Mel Jones

Simon Dole

• Mark Butcher

• Charlotte Edwards

• Lydia Greenway

• Lauren Winfield Hill

• Charles Dagnall

Merry C. Vega is a highly respected and accomplished news author. She began her career as a journalist, covering local news for a small-town newspaper. She quickly gained a reputation for her thorough reporting and ability to uncover the truth.

Latest stories