Worried about your privacy? Disable the location registration settings of your smartphone

<pre><pre>Worried about your privacy? Disable the location registration settings of your smartphone

Even if you & # 39; Location History & # 39; turns off, Google will store your exact location often.

Here's how to remove those tags and some best-effort practices that keep your location as private as possible.

But there is no panacea, because simply connecting to the internet on each device marks an IP address that can be geographically mapped.

Smartphones also connect to cell towers so that your network employee knows your general location at all times.

To disable tracking on any device

Launch your browser and go to myactivity.google.com. You must be logged in to Google.

In the drop-down menu at the top left, go to & # 39; Activity Controls & # 39 ;. Switch & # 39; Web & App Activity & # 39; and & # 39; Location History & # 39; from.

This should prevent precise location markers from being saved to your Google Account.

Google will warn you that some of its services will not work as well if these settings are disabled.

In particular, neither the Google Assistant, nor a digital caretaker, nor the smart home speaker of Google Home are particularly useful.

On iOS

If you use Google Maps, adjust your location setting at & # 39; During & # 39; from the app. This prevents the app from accessing your location when it is not active.

Go to Settings Privacy Location Services and from there select Google Maps to perform the adjustment.

Use a search engine other than Google in the Safari web browser.

Under Settings Safari Search Engine you will find other options such as Bing or DuckDuckGo.

You can turn off the location while browsing by going to Settings Privacy Location Services Safari websites and go to & # 39; Never & # 39; to turn.

This still does not prevent advertisers from knowing your raw location based on an IP address on a website.

You can also disable Location Services almost completely via Settings Privacy Location Services.

Both Google Maps and Apple Maps will still work, but they will not know where you are on the map and will not be able to give you directions.

Emergency services can still find you if the need arises.

On Android

Under the main settings icon, click & # 39; Security & location & # 39 ;. Scroll down to the heading & # 39; Privacy & # 39 ;. Tap & # 39; Location & # 39 ;. You can switch it off for the entire device.

Use & # 39; App-level Permissions & # 39; to disable access to various apps.

Unlike the iPhone, there is no setting for & # 39; During Use & # 39 ;.

You can not disable Google Play services that deliver your location for other apps if you do not use that service.

Sign up as a & # 39; guest & # 39; on your Android device by swiping down from the top and tapping the downward-facing cursor, and then again on the body icon.

Keep in mind which services you log in, such as Chrome. You can also change search engines, even in Chrome.

To delete past location tracking on any device

On the myactivity.google.com page, look for each item with a location icon next to the word & # 39; details & # 39 ;.

If you click this, a window will appear with a link that sometimes & # 39; From your current location & # 39; says.

If you click on this, Google Maps will open, showing where you were at that moment.

You can remove it from this pop-up by clicking the navigation icon with the three stacked dots, then clicking & # 39; Delete & # 39 ;.

Some items are grouped in unexpected places, such as subject names, google.com, Search, or Maps.

You must delete them item by item. You can delete all items in date ranges or by service, but in the end you get more than just location markers.

.