19 C
Sunday, May 28, 2023
HomeGamingWo Long: Fallen Dynasty elemental strengths and weaknesses chart

Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty elemental strengths and weaknesses chart


Wo Long: fallen dynasty‘s elemental magical damage system is built around five phases of elements: Wood, Firework, Soil, MetalAnd Water. These stages are most prominent in the game’s Wizardry Spells, but they are also involved in all of your armor as resistors.

Us Wo Long: fallen dynasty Five Phases and Elemental Damage Guide explains the strengths and weaknesses of each phase compared to the others (with a handy chart to boot) and teaches you how to master the five elements in combat.

Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty elemental affinities, strengths and weaknesses map

The five stages of elemental damage are arranged in a star shape. Each element strongly opposes (or “overcomes” in the language of the game) the element two points clockwise. That’s really confusing, so here’s an image to explain it:

The Five Phase elements and the elements that overcome them.
Image: Jeffrey Parkin | Sources: Team Ninja/Koei ​​Tecmo

Fire Phase overcomes Metal Phase (“metals melt under extreme heat”), and Metal Phase in turn overcomes Wood Phase (“a sharp object like an ax cuts through wood”). So it goes through the remaining three – wood sucks nutrients from the earth, earth dams up water, water extinguishes fire – in a rock-paper-scissors series of strengths (and, conversely, weaknesses).

Five Stages vs Five Stages Virtues in Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty

First, there is a difference between the five stages (elemental damage types) and five stages of virtue points. When you level up your character on a Battle flagyou spend Real Qi to increase your Five Phases Virtues (which in turn improve your stats). Those Five Phase Virtues are not the same as the elemental damage of the Five Phases.

Similarly, any melee weapon has that Attack bonuses based on your Five Phases Virtue Points — polearms get a bonus from your Earth, Wood, and Fire Virtues; and scimitars get a bonus from your water, metal, and fire virtues. This is not means your melee weapons will do elemental damage based on your Five Phases Virtue Points – they don’t.

The Wo Long Level Up screen with the virtue points and five stage attack and resistance stats highlighted

In the Level Up screen, increase your Five Phases Virtue Points.
Image: Team Ninja/Koe Tecmo

However, increasing your Five Stage Virtues does increase you attack power with Five Phases to attack (Sorcery spells) and resistance to Five Phases attacks. This is where the five stages are most important to your character. For example, increasing your Metal Virtue increases the power of your Metal Magic attacks and your defense against Wood Magic attacks (as in the table above).

Using five stages in Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty

Understanding how the five stages work will give you a head start Wo longbrutal fights.

First – we repeat ourselves because it’s confusing – your Five Stage Virtues are not about elementary ones fight damage, so use the weapon that best suits your playstyle and your stats to do as much damage as possible.

Where you can use the five stages offensively is with your spells. If you face an enemy who hits you with a lot of fire magic, strike back with water spells. It is possible to counter spells this way.

Then look at the damage you have to take. Under each armor in your loadout, each piece (from each set) has bonuses or penalties for each of the five stages. If you’re going up against an enemy that attacks with metal-based spells (curses and poisons), switch to metal-resistant armor.

The author of what'snew2day.com is dedicated to keeping you up-to-date on the latest news and information.

Latest stories