WhatsApp is reversing course, will not limit functionality now if you do not accept the new privacy policy

0

Earlier this month, Facebook-owned WhatsApp said that users would lose functionality over time if they did not accept the new privacy policy by May 15. In a reversal, Facebook now says the plan has changed and users are actually not accepting the updated policy will not see limited functionality (through TNW).

“Given recent discussions with various authorities and privacy experts, we want to make it clear that we will not limit WhatsApp’s functionality to those who have not yet accepted the update,” a WhatsApp spokesperson said in a statement. The edge. WhatsApp tells The edge that this is the plan that will go on indefinitely.

The policy rollout was a confusing mess and raised concerns that WhatsApp would start sharing more users’ personal data with Facebook. (Some WhatsApp user data, such as users’ phone numbers, is already shared with Facebook, a policy that went into effect in 2016.) WhatsApp has emphasized that this is not the case – the policy update concerns messages sent via WhatsApp, which may be servers of Facebook is stored.

The majority of users who have seen the new policy have accepted, the company says in a support article. This article also notes that you will be reminded of the new policy if you have not accepted it, which is still the case today, WhatsApp said in its statement.

“We will continue to remind users from time to time and make them accept the update, including when they choose to use relevant optional features, such as communicating with a company that has support from Facebook,” WhatsApp said. “We hope this approach enhances the choice that all users have, whether or not they want to communicate with a company.”