Advertisements
<pre><pre>Uber now deactivates drivers with a lower average score

Shocks of the world, listen: you have misbehaved in the backseat of Ubers for years without consequences. Your drivers are sick of it. They give you low ratings, but it never seemed to matter. Now those days are over. Today, the company that made the lift announced that anyone with an "below average rating" is in danger of deactivating the app.

Advertisements

This is a fear that drivers know well. Since Uber was first launched, drivers have known that low riders' scores can lead to deactivation. Now the tables are turned and Uber says it will deactivate the riders who don't seem to improve their behavior.

According to Kate Parker, main safety brand and initiatives at Uber:

Riders can lose access to Uber if they develop a significantly lower average score. Drivers receive tips on how to improve their ratings, such as encouraging polite behavior, avoiding garbage being left in the vehicle and avoiding drivers exceeding the speed limit. Drivers are given various opportunities to improve their assessment before they lose access to the Uber apps.

Many drivers are probably unaware of the fact that drivers can appreciate them, just as they judge their drivers. (Your rating is displayed under your name in the menu bar.) Ratings are always displayed as averages and neither drivers nor drivers see the individual rating of a particular trip.

Drivers risk deactivation when their score falls below a certain level (4.6, according to leaked documents from 2015). Uber would not say what that threshold would be for riders.

Uber had experimented with different ways in which drivers could give years of feedback to drivers. In 2017, the company introduced a feature that allowed directors to give additional comments to directors about their behavior. Drivers choose from a list of reasons: & # 39; wait & # 39 ;, & # 39; patience & # 39 ;, & # 39; number of riders & # 39 ;, & # 39; attitude & # 39 ;, & # 39; new route searched & # 39; or & # 39; other & # 39 ;. As a rider twice the same & # 39; label & # 39; gets in. After 30 days, a notification will appear when they open the Uber app to let them know that their behavior is affecting their review.

Uber also publishes its community guidelines, including a list of terrible behaviors that keep you from Uber. A lot goes without saying: do not fall in your driver's car, do not abuse or insult your driver, and certainly do not try to have sex with your driver.

Advertisements

The company is not only focused on driver behavior. Last month, Uber updated its app to give drivers the confidence that their driver has been screened safely. This came a few weeks after a student from the University of South Carolina is killed reportedly by a man posing as her Uber driver.