Twitter is testing new notifications that tell you if your account has been suspended or locked and put in read-only mode for violating Twitter rules. The notifications, announced Tuesday, will appear as a banner at the top of your feed. They are testing with a small percentage of Twitter users on iOS, Android and the web, a Twitter spokesperson said The edge.
The company is testing this feature after receiving feedback from users that they realized they were suspended or locked and in read-only mode after trying to tweet or follow new accounts, the Twitter spokesperson said.
Knowing where your account is is important. We’re testing a new way to let you know – right when you sign up.
If your account is locked or suspended, some of you will see a banner making that clear. pic.twitter.com/fOP53keghz
— Twitter support (@TwitterSupport) July 27, 2021
The new announcements describe your status and provide some extra guidance for those who are locked out or suspended. If you’re permanently suspended, one message says you can appeal, and if your account is locked, that message says most accounts will regain full access within a week.