The Ins and Outs to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card in New Jersey
Early in 2010, the former Governor Jon Corzine signed in his last day at the office the S. 119, also known as the New Jersey Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act. This law allowed people with medical debilitating conditions and any terminal illness to use medical marijuana as a treatment alternative.
Unfortunately, on the next day Gov. Chris Christie took office and stalled the law. Only by August 9, 2012, the New Jersey medical marijuana program began receiving the applications of registered physicians in order to start accepting patients applications. By December, the state had received its first medical cannabis dispensary.
There are currently over 53,000 registered in the NJ medical marijuana program.
How do I qualify for the New Jersey medical marijuana program?
Any resident of New Jersey over 18 years old, with a valid proof of residency and a qualifying condition listed on the program, is eligible to become a MMJ patient in the state.
What are the qualifying conditions listed on the program?
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
Chronic pain related to musculoskeletal disorders
Chronic pain in the Internal organs, abdomen, or intestines
Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease
Cancer and HIV/AIDS patients who experience severe or chronic pains; nausea; vomiting; cachexia, or wasting syndrome
Terminal cancer or illness, (if the patient has less than 12 months to live)
If patients with the following conditions are resistant or intolerant to standard treatment, they also qualify:
Intractable skeletal muscular spasticity
Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
Seizure disorder, including epilepsy
How can I get my medical marijuana card in New Jersey?
The first step of the process is to find a medical marijuana doctor registered with the DOH, who will evaluate your ailments and write you a medical cannabis recommendation.
All qualifying patients must go to at least four consultations with the MMP-registered physician or keep a legitimate relationship for at least a year with the same physician.
After you have established a bonafide doctor/patient relationship and the doctor has approved you as a qualifying patient for the program, the physician will submit information about you and your qualifying medical condition. Once he submitted the information needed, a secure Patient ID will be created. The physician will give you a copy of the Patient ID, which you will need to use for completing your application on the NJ MMP website.
You can either register online or you can mail it to the New Jersey DOH:
New Jersey Department of Health (DOH)
P. O. Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
When you are approved by the state, they will send you an email with permission to pay for your MMJ card.
Where can I find a marijuana physician registered with NJ DOH?
In order to help you with this process, Veriheal has created a digital platform in which you connect with a physician registered in the MMP of New Jersey that will recommend medical cannabis to you.
The process is simple, you just have to register on Veriheal, schedule an appointment with the registered physician and attend your consultation.
There’s a fee of $199 for an individual package and a $379 fee for a combo package.