10.4 C
Wednesday, June 7, 2023
HomeSportsThe FIFTEEN players who earned votes for the Football Writers' Footballer of...

The FIFTEEN players who earned votes for the Football Writers’ Footballer of the Year award


REVEALED: The FIFTEEN players who received votes for the Football Writers’ Footballer of the Year award, including surprising names from Brighton, Leicester, West Ham… and FOUR Man City stars!

Erling Haaland won the Football Writers’ Association’s Footballer of the Year crown, but 14 other players also won the votes for first place.

The Man City star has been in a league of his own this season, shattering records and scoring 51 goals in 47 appearances so far.

But not all 800 voters were convinced, as although Haaland took 82 per cent of the vote – a record since the Premier League began – Leicester’s James Maddison, Brighton’s Moises Caicedo and Manchester United’s Casemiro are among some eyebrow-raising selections.

Arsenal winger Bukayo Saka finished second to Haaland, with his Gunners teammate Martin Odegaard third, following their brilliant seasons.

Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne finished fourth, with Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford fifth.

1683886145 675 The FIFTEEN players who earned votes for the Football Writers

But they are some names outside the top five, seen by Mail sportsthat is proven head scratching.


Erling Haland

Bukayo Saka

Martin Odegaard

Kevin De Bruyne

Marcus Rashford

Harry Kane

Declan Rise


Mo Salah

Kieran Tripper

James Madison

Granite Xhaka


John Stones

Moses Caicedo

Maddison’s squad is an interesting one, with Leicester in 18th and facing relegation to the Championship.

Individually, he has nine assists and ten goals in the league this season, finishing fourth on the assists list behind De Bruyne, Saka and Leandro Trossard.

But he has been heavily criticized in recent weeks for not helping to keep Leicester away from the relegation battle, with their most recent defeat being a 5-3 defeat at Fulham.

There were also votes for first place for Tottenham striker Harry Kane, who finished outside the top five, Declan Rice, Mohamed Salah, who won the award last year, and Newcastle United full-back Kieran Trippier.

Arsenal’s Granit Xhaka, along with two of Haaland’s City teammates, Rodri and John Stones, also earned Footballer of the Year selections.

Brighton midfielder Caicedo was another writer-picked as their Footballer of the Year.

Mancester City’s goal-scoring machine, Haaland becomes the first City player to win the FWA award, awarded since 1948, since centre-back Ruben Dias in 2020-21.

However, Haaland was elected unanimously, having made 47 appearances this season and scoring 51 goals, including six hat-tricks.

Fifty of his goals have come within the penalty area and he scores an average of every 72 minutes.

1683886146 909 The FIFTEEN players who earned votes for the Football Writers

“It’s an honor to win the Football Writers’ Award in my first season in English football,” said Haaland.

“I try to be the best I can be every day, and to be recognized in this way means a lot to me.

“I’ve enjoyed my time at City so far – my teammates are incredible and they give me opportunities to score goals.

‘I want to thank them all, because without them I couldn’t have won this prize.’

He added: “I also owe so much to Pep and the team behind the team here at City.

“Everyone has been so good to me since I’ve been here and I’ve never worked with such top professionals.

Thank you to everyone who voted for me. It is a great honor to have won this award.

“I’m now focused on making sure I finish the season as strong as possible and helping City win trophies.”

1683886147 446 The FIFTEEN players who earned votes for the Football Writers

Cristiano Ronaldos sister fires back at Real Madrid chief Florentino

Merry C. Vega is a highly respected and accomplished news author. She began her career as a journalist, covering local news for a small-town newspaper. She quickly gained a reputation for her thorough reporting and ability to uncover the truth.

Latest stories