Have you been blocked on WhatsApp? Five clues that someone has cut you off
- If you think someone has cut off contact with you, there are some common signs
- WhatsApp users can check a variety of features to see if they have been blocked
- However, if it has been blocked, the person may have a good reason for doing so.
Do your WhatsApp text messages never arrive? Do you think they could have blocked you? There are some telltale signs that someone has cut off contact with you.
If you haven’t heard from someone for a while, it can be easy to rush in and assume they’ve cut ties, but you might be busy.
But if they have blocked you, surely they have their reasons. To find out for sure, there are a few methods you can use.
Do you want to check if you have been blocked? WhatsApp users can check a number of features to see if someone has cut contact
In the app, there’s no direct way to check if you’ve been blocked, and you won’t receive any notifications to say it’s happened.
However, the first gift that has been blocked is that your phone calls are not received.
If someone blocks you, your calls simply won’t get through. But, there could be some explanations for that, like the person has no signal or their phone is turned off.
Another sign that you may have been blocked is that you will no longer be able to see the person’s ‘last seen’ status in the chat window.
However, don’t jump to conclusions again, because there are other reasons why you might not be able to see your status.
In 2022, WhatsApp introduced a way for users to hide their “last seen” indicator and there could be any number of reasons why it doesn’t show up on your phone.
Another way to tell if you’ve been blocked is to check if your messages have been delivered.
If someone has blocked you, your messages will be marked as sent, not delivered.
But users should also be careful while using this method as it can also happen when the person has no internet connection.
Checking the status of your sent message against someone else who also has a sent message is a great way to check; however, both may have been blocked.
If you discover that your number is blocked, it may be worth considering why the person has chosen to block your number.
If you need more evidence, you can try having a group chat with the suspected blocker.
WhatsApp will not allow you to add the contact to the group because they have been blocked.
If you’ve come to the conclusion that you’ve been blocked, it might be worth considering why the person chose to take the action, was it an accident? Or have you done something worth blocking?
If you have been harassing or abusing someone, you should stop contacting them.
For any victims of malicious messages, you can report this online or by calling the police via 101.
If you want to block someone on WhatsApp, all you need to do is follow these four steps:
- Open the WhatsApp chat with the contact you want to block
- Click on the name at the top of the chat.
- Scroll down until you see the option to Block or Report them
- Select this and then click Block
Of course, if you’ve accidentally blocked someone, there’s a way to reverse the action.
All you need to do is open the app and find the blocked person, tap on the bubble under the chat and then choose the option to ‘unblock’.
However, if someone has blocked your number, you will not be able to reverse this action.