Quinton de Kock is set to avoid punishment for deceiving Fakhar Zaman into being exhausted for 193

0

Tickled pink! South Africa’s Quinton de Kock appears to escape punishment for violating the ‘spirit of cricket’ after deliberately fooling Pakistani Fakhar Zaman into chasing him away in the second ODI – then LAUGH about it

  • South Africa won the second ODI by 17 runs to tie the three-match series 1-1
  • Fakhar Zaman gave up 193 runs in the final of the Pakistani innings
  • But he was misled by Quinton de Kock’s gesture to the other side
  • This led to accusations that De Kock was doing illegal bogus fieldwork
  • But match officials have decided he had no intention of deceiving the batsman

Quinton de Kock is not expected to face ICC sanctions after he tricked Fakhar Zaman into being sentenced to 193 points in the second ODI between South Africa and Pakistan on Sunday.

The incident took place in the final of the match, with Pakistan still needing 30 points to win. Zaman pushed for a second run that would have kept him on strike, but slowed down when De Kock’s gesture to the bowler’s end led him to believe he was safe.

Instead, Aiden Markram’s direct hit went towards the end of Zaman, and he stayed short of his fold.

Quinton de Kock (left) celebrates after Fakhar Zaman (right) was retired for 193 after a direct throw by Aiden Markram

Quinton de Kock (left) celebrates after Fakhar Zaman (right) was retired for 193 after a direct throw by Aiden Markram

The bogus field law states that a fielder cannot intentionally mislead a batsman after the attacker receives the ball, but it is believed that the match officials decided that De Kock had no intention of deceiving Zaman.

According to ESPNcricinfo the referees were happy that De Kock called ‘bowler’s end’ even before the first run was complete.

Zaman admitted after the game that it was his own fault for slowing down to complete the second run, looking back to see if Haris Rauf was safely in his fold on the other side.

South African captain Temba Bavuma called De Kock’s actions ‘smart’ while spinner Tabraiz Shamsi took to Twitter to defend the wicket-keeper.

Pakistani management is said to have spoken to referee Andy Pycroft after the incident, but has not filed an official complaint.

Tabraiz Shamsi has taken to Twitter to defend Quinton de Kock's actions in the second ODI

Tabraiz Shamsi has taken to Twitter to defend Quinton de Kock's actions in the second ODI

Tabraiz Shamsi has taken to Twitter to defend Quinton de Kock’s actions in the second ODI

He added that the focus should be on Fakhar Zaman's innings, not De Kock's actions

He added that the focus should be on Fakhar Zaman's innings, not De Kock's actions

He added that the focus should be on Fakhar Zaman’s innings, not De Kock’s actions

Advertisement