Soon the time will come when you will no longer be able to share your accounts with your friends or family because Netflix will soon stop sharing passwords, the so-called password sharing.
That means you can no longer share your Netflix account until you pay for more users.
Netflix announced this in January and confirmed this in further statements. But just last week, the streaming service announced that the strict password rules would not be introduced in other countries until the second quarter.
So far only Canada, New Zealand, Portugal and Spain are affected by the change, but Netflix is feeling the effects according to Bloomberg clear that the change is not well received by users.
A million Spaniards and more loss for Netflix
The change to the password rules appears to have caused over a million Spaniards canceled their Netflix subscription. A massive wave of layoffs is also said to have occurred in the other three countries affected.
If you now think that this is a good sign and that this change might not appear with us, you are wrong. Because Netflix has already counted on such numbers.
Netflix is sure you’ll be back
Similar rules were introduced in South America last year There, too, the number of users has plummeted. But it seems like a lot of people can’t do without the streaming service.
Netflix claims that the number of subscribers and paid additional members eventually increased once the initial backlash calmed down.
Now they assume that this pattern will repeat itself.
What about with you? Will you cancel your subscription when the rule change comes? We probably won’t be able to do without The Witcher Season 3 or Squid Game Season 2, but how are you doing? Write it to us in the comments! We are looking forward to it.