18.3 C
Wednesday, June 7, 2023
HomeEntertainmentNBC's 'Today' wins the Peabody Institutional Award

NBC’s ‘Today’ wins the Peabody Institutional Award


NBC newsmorning news program Today won the Peabody Institutional Award, which “recognizes institutions and organizations, as well as series and programs, for their enduring body of work and their iconic impact on both the media landscape and the public imagination.”

The award is selected by the Peabody Board of Jurors.

“Almost three-quarters of a century Today has been a staple of the morning for millions of Americans and a consistent cultural touchstone for deeply moving human stories, groundbreaking news and everyday joy,” said Jeffrey Jones, executive director of Peabody. “We are delighted to acknowledge the program not only for their decades of great reporting and storytelling, but also for their undeniable impact on culture and an informed audience.”

Today premiered on January 14, 1052 and has been bringing the latest news to the public ever since.

Other recent Institutional Award winners include Fresh air with Terry GrossARRAY, The Simpsons, 60 Minutes, Sesame Street, The Daily Show with Jon Stewartkartemquin movies, FRONT LINE and ITVS.

Further nominees will be announced between April 11 and April 13, and the Trailblazer Award and Career Achievement Award winners will be announced on April 20.

The winners will be celebrated at the 83rd annual Peabody Awards, which will be held in Los Angeles for the first time ever on June 11.

Merry C. Vega is a highly respected and accomplished news author. She began her career as a journalist, covering local news for a small-town newspaper. She quickly gained a reputation for her thorough reporting and ability to uncover the truth.

Latest stories