Latest News And Breaking Headlines

Natasha McLean, Sheneta Grimmond return to West Indies squad for New Zealand ODIs

Newly appointed captain Hayley Matthews will lead the team for the first time. This will be West Indies’ first series in any format since they lost the semi-final to eventual champions Australia in the ODI World Cup in March earlier this year.
Performances in the inaugural Women’s 6ixty and CPL were taken into account while selecting the squad, a CWI release said. Grimmond took 2 for 22 for Trinbago Knight Riders in the victorious CPL final and claimed four more wickets in his 6.2 overs in 6ixty. Glasgow also represented Trinbago Knight Riders in the two tournaments, but she barely got chances to bat or bowl.

Grimmond last played for the West Indies in Pakistan last November, whereas McLean’s last international match was a T20I in September 2020 and her last ODI was in November 2019. McLean has the experience with 30 ODIs to her name and Grimmond has seven.

“The New Zealand series is very important for the women’s cricket landscape, not only because it starts a new cycle, but also because it is part of the preparation leading up to the T20 World Cup in South Africa,” head of women’s cricket Ann Browne said John. “With a few senior players currently unavailable for various reasons, such as the experienced Anisa Mohammed, Kycia Knight and the recently retired Deandra Dottin, the selectors were still able to get a mix of senior and development players, including the U-19 player Jannillea Glasgow and returning players Natasha McLean and Sheneta Grimmond. Ultimately, we believe captain Hayley Matthews in her first series will have a promising squad of players to start building with.”

All-rounder Mandy Mangru, 22, and left-arm spinner Kaysia Schultz have also joined the players in Antigua for a ten-day training camp led by head coach Courtney Walsh. Mangu and Glasgow were handed development contracts when CWI announced the annual repayments in June.

The CWI said a match day squad of 13 players will be selected ahead of each ODI. The ODIs will be followed by five T20Is from September 25 to October 6, which will also be played at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium.

The ODIs will be part of the new Women’s Championship cycle, with both the West Indies and New Zealand yet to play a match.

ODI squad Hayley Matthews (capt), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle (wk), Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Jannillea Glasgow, Sheneta Grimmond, Chinelle Henry, Kyshona Knight, Natasha McLean (wk), Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor, Rashada Williams

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More