Mohun Bagan wins the Calcutta Football League after eight years

Mohun Bagan Win Calcutta Football League After Eight Years

City soccer giants Mohun Bagan defeated Calcutta Customs 2-0 to win the Calcutta Football League after an eight-year stint in the Mohun Bagan / CCFC camp on Wednesday. This is the thirtieth time that Mohun Bagan wins the league, and that also with a match in hand. Henry Kisekka (4th, 45 minutes) scored a brace to help his team end East Bengal's dominance and take home the local league they won for the last time in 2009. Mohun Bagan ended up with the East's dominance Bengal in the Calcutta Football League.

East Bengal has accumulated a fantastic record in the league in recent years, having won eight consecutive titles, starting with the 2010 season. East Bengal is the most successful team in the tournament, as it won the title 39 times.

Mohun Bagan seemed to have complete control from the first whistle in front of a local crowd with full capacity.

Kisekka found the back of the net during the early exchanges after Arijit Bagui's long ball trapped chest beautifully from the right flank.

The green and garnet brigade led the first period and rarely looked at its rivals.

Customs had the chance to equalize when Eze Stanley ran past Mohun Bagan's defense and forced a brilliant shot from Mohun Bagan goalkeeper Sankar Roy.

Dipanda Dicka had a free day in charge since the Cameroonian rejected two golden opportunities to secure the second of Bagan.

Dipanda, however, made amends for his wastage in front of the goal by placing Kisekka out of the six-yard area.

The Ugandan striker controlled the ball and marked it calmly beyond the reach of Suvam Sen in the far post.

Mohun Bagan could have scored his third goal in the 58th minute only if Azharuddin Malik's header had not been rejected by the post.

Mohun Bagan will face Mohammedan Sporting in an inconsequential match at the Yuva Bharati Krirangan on September 18.