Matt Dawson claims that Manu Tuilagi should NOT have been on the red card for a high tackle on George North
England star Manu Tuilagi sees red for BRUTAL high tackle on George North in Six Nations victory over Wales … but head coach Eddie Jones insists that the decision was ‘bizarre’ and ‘absolutely nonsense’
Eddie Jones launched a devastating attack on the decision to send Manu Tuilagi for a high tackle during the 33-30 Six Nations victory of England against Wales in Twickenham.
With England 33-16 ahead after 74 minutes, Tuilagi and Henry Slade tackled George North while the wing ran to the tryline, but the middle seemed to catch his opponent with a shoulder in the head.
After consulting the Official Official referee, referee Ben O’Keeffe decided to fire Tuilagi for a dangerous tackle – to the anger of English boss Jones.
Ben O’Keeffe shows Manu Tuilagi a red card during England’s win over Wales on Saturday
The center made contact with the head of George North during an attempt at tackle
England’s head coach, Eddie Jones, was furious with the decision to fire his player
In the aftermath, Jones said: “I think it’s weird. Absolute nonsense
Tuilagi, who previously scored England’s third attempt after Anthony Watson and Elliot Daly had crossed in front of hosts in the first half, is now likely to face a ban on the dismissal.
After the red card, with England up to 13 after a yellow for Ellis Genge a minute earlier, Wales scored via Dan Biggar and Justin Tipuric to end the game 33-30 and earn a losing bonus point.
Several experts also jumped in Tuilagi’s defense, including Dawson to suggest that a lesser penalty should have been given.
The 28-year-old was shown the first red card in England since Elliot Daly was fired in 2016
Dawson told the BBC: “If that was a World Cup final, I don’t believe Manu Tuilagi will be sent. I think it’s about England at 33-16 at home. ”
Upon commenting for ITV, Lawrence Dallaglio also suggested that the card was the wrong color.
He said: “For what it’s worth, I think Tuilagi is a bit difficult there. I think there was mitigation, I don’t think there was an intention, and I think a yellow one would have been enough.
The referee didn’t see it that way and England will feel hurt.
Tuilagi had previously succeeded in crossing England’s third attempt that seemed to seal the victory