Home Australia Maroons name experienced squad for first women’s State of Origin game

Maroons name experienced squad for first women’s State of Origin game

0 comment
Maroons name experienced squad for first women's State of Origin game

Queensland selectors have named an experienced squad for the first women’s State of Origin match this month.

The historic series, the first to be played over three matches, begins on May 16 at Lang Park.

Queensland won last year’s State of Origin overall, scoring four points more than New South Wales in the two-match series.

The Maroons have chosen a team of 20 women, 16 of whom took the field during last year’s series.

Burleigh Bears running back Lauren Brown returns to the team, having last appeared for the Maroons in their 20-14 loss to the Blues in 2022.

Maroons coach Tahnee Norris believes the team selected for the series opener is good enough to get her State of Origin defense off to a winning start.

“I’m very pleased with where this group is at,” Norris said.

“We have some players who are not available due to injury, but otherwise we have been left with a winning combination.”

The selectors have rewarded three non-international players in the squad.

Sienna Lofipo and Skyla Adams have been called up after impressing at under-19 level last year, while Norths Devils’ 21-year-old forward Makenzie Weale has also forced her way into the squad.

“His selection shows the strength of the [QRL Women’s] premiership and our representative pathways, and these girls now have the opportunity to move up to the Maroons senior team,” Norris said.

Queensland Maroons Team Game I

  • Skyla Adams – South Logan Magpies
  • Tarryn Aiken – Tweed Gulls
  • Emily Bass – Wynnum Manly Gulls
  • Ali Brigginshaw – Western Clydesdales
  • Destiny Brill – South Logan Magpies
  • Lauren Brown – Burleigh Bears
  • Shenae Ciesiolka – Western Clydesdales
  • Jessika Elliston – Tweed Seagulls
  • Sophie Holyman – Burleigh Bears
  • Keilee Joseph – Southern Logan Magpies
  • Sienna Lofipo – Wynnum Manly Gulls
  • Emma Manzelmann – Mackay Cutters
  • Shannon Mato – Brisbane Tigers
  • Evania Pelite – Southern Logan Magpies
  • Tazmin Rapana – Burleigh Bears
  • Julia Robinson – Wynnum Manly Gulls
  • Romy Teitzel – Wynnum Manly Seagulls
  • Zahara Temara – Burleigh Bears
  • Tamika Upton – Central Queensland Capras
  • Makenzie Weale – Devils of the North

Sports content to make you think… or allow you not to. A newsletter delivered every Saturday.


You may also like