12.5 C
Thursday, June 1, 2023
HomeSportsKSI's victory over Joe Fournier overturned with result now a 'no decision'

KSI’s victory over Joe Fournier overturned with result now a ‘no decision’


KSI’s win over Joe Fournier was VOID following a post-fight investigation, with the result now a ‘no decision’…but the YouTuber was NOT disqualified with the elbow deemed accidental

YouTuber KSI had his TKO victory over Joe Fournier overturned, with the result changed to “no decision” following a post-fight review.

‘The Nightmare’ appears to have ended the highly anticipated contest in the second round, as he knocked out Fournier with a short right hand on Saturday, May 13.

Replays showed the knockout had come from a forearm, however, with Fournier left enraged, before immediately submitting an appeal to the Professional Boxing Association.

KSI was comfortably winning the fight before the incident, and the PBA – following its investigation – ruled the elbow was accidental, thus changing the result to “no decision”, rather than disqualifying him.

The result will no longer feature on either fighter’s record, with KSI therefore remaining undefeated.

KSI (L) had his TKO win over Joe Fournier (R) vacated following an investigation

Fournier, 40, appealed to the PBA after being knocked out by an elbow in the second round

Fournier, 40, appealed to the PBA after being knocked out by an elbow in the second round

A statement from the PBA on Friday read: “Today, May 19, 2023, Mr. Joe Fournier and KSI were advised of a ‘revised decision’ which has been made by Mr. Gareth Morris, the arbitrator in charge of the fight on Saturday 13 May 2023 at the OVO Arena, Wembley, London, UK.

“Mr. Fournier had submitted a protest and KSI responded after KSI won by technical knockout in the second round of the fight.

‘After careful consideration of the evidence and representations, with the assistance of Mr Micky Vann (the responsible supervisor) and a distinguished lawyer (Mr Gul Nawaz Hussain KC of 33 Bedford Row Chambers, London) where necessary, Mr Morris came to an independent decision.

“Even if KSI won the fight, the forearm/elbow strike proved to be accidental and the obvious disappointment that will ensue, it has been ruled that the fight is declared a no decision as per the rules.

“The PBA conducted the review properly, fairly and with legal assistance throughout the fight as the fight was sanctioned and regulated under the Unified Rules of Boxing.

“We have ensured that this process is conducted quickly and fairly to maintain the integrity of boxing.”

More soon…

Merry C. Vega is a highly respected and accomplished news author. She began her career as a journalist, covering local news for a small-town newspaper. She quickly gained a reputation for her thorough reporting and ability to uncover the truth.

Latest stories