18.3 C
Wednesday, June 7, 2023
HomeAustraliaKing Charles coronation: Sam Kerr named in Australia representatives

King Charles coronation: Sam Kerr named in Australia representatives


Aussie football superstar Sam Kerr will lead Australia’s representatives at King Charles’ coronation after being honored as official flag bearer

Sam Kerr will lead a contingent of Australians at King Charles’s coronation next weekend, with the Matildas superstar named the official standard-bearer for the huge ceremony in London.

Kerr, along with some of Australia’s most prominent figures, will join Prime Minister Anthony Albanese and Governor-General David Hurley at the historic event in London on Saturday, May 6.

Music artist Nick Cave, comedian Adam Hills, artist Jasmine Coe and nurse Emily Regan are also among the other ‘outstanding Australians’ selected to represent the country.

The special Australian guests were “chosen to show the world the best of our values: caring for others, serving the community and moving forward,” a government spokesman said.

Other notable Australians include Jasmine Coe who runs the UK’s first and only Aboriginal art gallery, youth advocate Yasmin Poole and 2022 Young Australian of the year Dr. Daniel Nour.

Sam Kerr will be Australia’s official standard bearer at the coronation of King Charles

A number of prominent Australians have been selected to represent the nation

A number of prominent Australians have been selected to represent the nation

Australians who have been an integral part of the Covid-19 response will also be on hand, along with Professor Meryn Voysey who helped develop the Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine and Emily Regan who worked for the UK National Health Service during the pandemic.

“I am honored to represent Australia at the coronation of the King and Queen Consort, which is a historic occasion,” Albanese said. “I am proud to join a group of remarkable Australians who will also attend the coronation and showcase our truly diverse and dynamic nation.”

Victoria Cross recipient Corporal Daniel Keighran and Cross of Valor recipient Richard Joyes will also join the group.

Full List of Aussie Representatives

  • Mrs. Sam Kerr OAM
  • Mrs Leanne Benjamin AM OBE
  • Mr Nick Cave AO
  • Miss Jasmine Coe
  • Mr Adam Hills MBE
  • Dr Daniel Nour
  • Miss Yasmin Poole
  • Miss Emily Regan
  • Mrs Minette Salmon
  • Mrs Claire Spencer AM
  • Professor Merryn Voysey
  • Corporal Daniel Keighran VC
  • Mr. Richard Joyes cv
  • Mrs Yvonne Kenny AM

The author of what'snew2day.com is dedicated to keeping you up-to-date on the latest news and information.

Latest stories