Jamie Redknapp slaps the referees for sending Jannik Vestergaard from Southampton against Leicester

0

‘These decisions are RUINING football’: Jamie Redknapp convicts referee Robert Jones for sending Jannik Vestergaard for a follow-up tackle to Jamie Vardy … less than a week after Fabian Balbuena dropped a red card for the same!

  • Jannik Vestergaard was sent off early for Southampton against Leicester City
  • The Danish defender made an early attack on Foxes striker Jamie Vardy
  • Vestergaard caught the ball, but the successor came into contact with Vardy
  • Jamie Redknapp claims officials are ‘ruining’ football with these decisions
  • The Sky expert compared the call to Fabian Balbuena’s red card against Chelsea

Jamie Redknapp claims that the referees made another mistake on Friday evening by sending Jannik Vestergaard from Southampton out early against Leicester.

The Saints center-back is said to have caught Jamie Vardy high on the leg when he was the last man to misjudge a back pass, even though the Dane got a piece of the ball before catching Foxes’ forward.

Referee Robert Jones waved a red card to Vestergaard, but Redknapp claimed the challenge wasn’t even worth a free kick let alone an elimination.

Jamie Redknapp claimed Jannik Vestergaard from Southampton should not have been sent off against Leicester on Friday night

Vestergaard was fired early on for a lunge on Foxes forward Jamie Vardy

Vestergaard was fired early on for a lunge on Foxes forward Jamie Vardy

The Sky Sports pundit compared the decision last week to West Ham defender Fabian Balbuena’s red card against Chelsea, who was fired for catching Ben Chilwell high after swiping the ball.

The Hammers defender’s red card was quashed by the FA earlier this week after David Moyes’ side appealed the call, although VAR helped make the original decision.

Redknapp told Sky on Friday night: ‘I don’t think it’s a mistake, there’s a sequel coming, look at Balbuena last week.

‘He gets it on the ankle, but that’s the sequel. It’s a contact sport, it’s not a mistake.

Vestergaard got the ball before colliding with Vardy, but then caught the striker high

Vestergaard got the ball before colliding with Vardy, but then caught the striker high

Redknapp says sequel should not be considered a violation and call is 'ruining football'

Redknapp says sequel should not be considered a violation and call is ‘ruining football’

Redknapp compared the decision to Fabian Balbuena's departure from Chelsea last week

Redknapp compared the decision to Fabian Balbuena’s departure from Chelsea last week

Even if it does, it’s not 100 percent that Vardy gets there. It is a clear and obvious mistake. I think all players were baffled about it.

“We have to shy away from reality, it ruins football, these decisions.”

Fellow Sky Sports pundit Darren Bent agreed that Vestergaard was “ unlucky ” to get his marching orders because it was simply the momentum of the original challenge that carried him through Vardy.

Robert Jones (left) took little time to sway the Southampton defender

Robert Jones (left) took little time to sway the Southampton defender

Darren Bent agreed with Redknapp that the decision to dismiss Vestergaard was incorrect

Darren Bent agreed with Redknapp that the decision to dismiss Vestergaard was incorrect

Bent added: ‘It’s not 100 percent (a mistake), he (Vestergaard) is jumping in that direction, the momentum takes him through.

“It is not a violation. I can understand if he doesn’t get close to the ball, but he has clearly won. It was a shame to send him away. It’s not a red card at all. ‘

Leicester entered the game to bolster their place in the top-four, while Southampton sought 12 points out of the relegation zone in 14th place with a win.

Advertisement

.