iPhone XS leaked photos show the phone apparently in the flesh

This could be the iPhone XS. Credit: Weibo / The Inquirer

The iPhone XS will be launched in a few hours, but while we have seen a handful of renders and photo's of components, we had not seen any leaked photos from the phone in the wild. That is, until now.

Placed on Weibo (a Chinese microblogging site) and spotted by The Inquirer, the images (below) show a phone that is very similar to the iPhone X, complete with a notch on the top, hardly the other way around and otherwise slightly curved edges.

The phone is so similar to the model of last year that we can not be sure that this is not what we are looking at, but that is no surprise, because it is rumored that the iPhone XS more or less identical to the iPhone X .

The rumors are different that it will be slightly thicker and have a slightly larger camera on the back, which is not visible here, because these photos only show the front of the phone.

So we take these photos with a pinch of salt, but whether they are the real deal or not, they are probably more or less representative of what the iPhone XS will look like.

This could be the iPhone XS. Credit: Weibo / The Inquirer

Less visible changes

And do not be too disappointed that there is not a lot of visual change, because there are still some changes under the hood, including a new chipset, a larger battery and improvements to the camera software.

However, the biggest changes can be reserved for the iPhone XS Plus, which seems to be set to link an iPhone X-like design to a huge 6.5-inch screen.

We will soon know what's on offer, as Apple plans to announce this year's iPhones at 10 a.m. PT / 1PM ET / 6PM BST Wednesday or 3AM AEST on Thursday 13th and we'll give you full information on everything what is announced.