Find the latest breaking news and information on the top stories, science, business, entertainment, politics, and more.

India qualify for WTC final after New Zealand beat Sri Lanka in Christchurch

India qualified for the World Test Championship (WTC) final, setting up a date with Australia for the highest global honor in the format. His presence in the final was confirmed after New Zealand achieved one of the most dramatic victories never, from the last ball of his first Test against Sri Lanka at Christchurch, by two wickets.

The final WTC race had started on Monday, with the results of both test matches: in Ahmedabad and in Christchurch, equally relevant. If Sri Lanka had beaten New Zealand they would have stayed in the race, had India not won in Ahmedabad, but with Kane Williamson scoring an unbeaten 121 and Daryl Mitchell scoring a quick 81 off 86 balls, New Zealand pulled off a victory. that had not seemed possible for a long time, since the last ball of the game. The result left Sri Lanka out of contention for the WTC final.

Now, after their loss in Christchurch, even if Sri Lanka win the next test, they will only go up to 52.78 points. That will be lower than India’s 56.94, even if India loses the Ahmedabad Test. If they tie, as seems more likely, India will finish at 58.80. Australia have already qualified: even if they lose in Ahmedabad, they will finish with a percentage of 64.91.

Australia and India are the only teams to have won at least twice as many Tests as they have lost in the WTC current cycle (in Tests that count for the WTC). Australia have been stellar with an 11-3 win-loss record so far, with series win against England, West Indies and South Africa (at home) and Pakistan (away). They also drew in Sri Lanka (1-1), with the only loss of the series coming in India (assuming a draw or loss in Ahmedabad).

India has a 10-5 record in this cycle, with series wins against New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Australia (assuming they win or draw in Ahmedabad) at home and Bangladesh away. They drew 2-2 in England and lost 2-1 in South Africa.

The WTC title competition will take place at The Oval in London from June 7.