ICC grants ODI status to all matches of the 2018 Asia Cup

ICC Awards ODI Status To All Asia Cup 2018 Matches

The International Cricket Council (ICC) awarded on Sunday the status of One-Day International (ODI) to all the matches to be played in the next Asia Cup 2018, to be held in Abu Dhabi and Dubai from September 15 and will end on September 28. This announcement means that all matches involving the Hong Kong cricket team, the only team in the tournament without ODI status, will be classified as ODI. Hong Kong will play its Group A matches against Pakistan and India on September 16 and September 18, respectively.

"Granting ODI status to all Asian Cup matches is a positive step taken by the ICC Board as we continue to examine in-depth international cricket structures in relation to our long-term ambition to grow the game and increase competition. a billion fans who already follow the sport, "ICC-cricket.com quoted ICC CEO David Richardson as saying.

"This decision was informed by our review of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier earlier this year, where there was a mix of games with and without international status that proved to be confusing for fans," added Richardson.

"To simplify the situation, we will extend the ICC Cricket World Cup principle of all ODI matches to other tournaments in which several teams have ODI status and others not, this includes the Asian Cup and the World Cup Qualifiers. ICC Cricket. " the most read statement.

"The fact that these events are open to teams beyond the existing 16 teams that currently have the ODI status is important and, consequently, ensuring that all parties receive ODI status is commensurate with the events and fair reward for the parties. teams that have qualified.

"Of course, all the T20 coincidences among the ICC members now have the status of T20I and we are in the middle of reviewing the whole ODI status issue, whose revision should be completed in the coming months," the statement concluded.

In addition to Hong Kong, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will participate in the two-week event.

These five teams will also appear in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 of 10 teams, which will take place in England and Wales from May 30 to July 14, 2019.