12.5 C
Wednesday, June 7, 2023
HomeGamingHow to play Tomb Raider games in chronological order

How to play Tomb Raider games in chronological order


enjoy tomb raider With a rich history, with Lara Croft excavating ruins and shrines all over the world. By overcoming all the obstacles that came her way, Lara became one of the most popular video game characters of all time.

And with a game tomb raider New, currently under development Crystal Dynamics Thus, a new Lara adventure is on the horizon, so we have put together a chronological list of each game for you tomb raider So those interested can start (or recreate) their amazing adventures from scratch.

What we present in this article

  • How do you play games in chronological order?
  • How do you play games according to release date

How many Tomb Raider games?

There are a total of 19 games tomb raider issued so far. These games are split over 3 timelines different from each other and include different plots that each introduce Lara and the other characters in a different twist.

Of these games, 14 were released on consoles, 6 supported portable consoles, and 6 supported mobile devices. and games Tomb Raider: The ProphecyAnd Lara Croft and the Guardian of LightAnd Lara Croft and the Temple of OsirisAnd Lara Croft GoAnd Lara Croft: Relic Run They are all indie games and therefore we will not include them in these lists.

How do you play tomb raider according to chronological order

If you want to take a chronological journey through all the Tomb Raider games, it’s important to note that there are 3 different timelines that you can play in.

  • Timeline of the original epic
  • Legend of Tomb Raider timeline
  • Survivor trilogy timeline

First Timeline – The Original Saga

1. Tomb Raider (1996)

The first ever Tomb Raider game centered around Lara being hired by businesswoman Jacqueline Natla to find a mysterious artifact called the Scion of Atlantis. After finding all three parts of Scion scattered around the world, Lara is betrayed by Natla and must face her on a volcanic island full of monsters.

2. Tomb Raider: The Curse of the Sword (2001)

This adventure is an exclusive sequel to Game Boy Color for the original copy of tomb raider on Game Boy ColorIn it, we see Lara tracking down a mystical sword and attempting to destroy it before the long-dead Lady Papho can come back to life from the netherworld and use her dark magic to conquer the world.

3. Tomb Raider II (1997)

This time, Lara is searching for the Xian dagger, a magical weapon used by the emperors of China. She has to face a clan chief named Marco Bartoli who is also seeking the dagger for its magical ability to turn its owner into a dragon.

4. Tomb Raider III (1998)

In the third major part of the original saga, Lara seeks to find a stone Infada, which is one of four crystal artifacts made thousands of years ago from the remains of a meteorite. And when you realize that the evil Dr. Willard aims to use the gnomes to speed up the evolution process. You set out to find the three remaining artifacts before the entire planet is transformed.

5. Tomb Raider: The Last Revelation (1999)

in The Last RevelationLara unknowingly releases the Egyptian god of chaos, Set, as she explores a shrine in Egypt. When Set and his forces wreak havoc in Cairo, Lara is aided by Semerkhet, who seeks to summon the god Horus, who represents the last hope to quell this devastating threat to the world.

6. Tomb Raider: Chronicles (2000)

After the mysterious ending of the game The Last RevelationIn her memory, Winston and other friends recount Lara’s historical adventures. With stories of excavating the catacombs of Rome, battling through a Russian naval submarine, and exploring an island haunted by demonic forces, the Chronicles reveal (Chronicles) How clever and well-traveled Lara is, but is she really gone?

7. Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness (2003)

Framed for the murder of her former mentor Werne von Kuri, Lara explores Paris and Prague in an attempt to clear her name and solve the murder. Curtis hunts down Trent, the last survivor of a community Lux veritatisLara and hide a deep dark secret about his true nature.

Second timeline – Legend of Tomb Raider

1683309427 217 How to play Tomb Raider games in chronological order

1. Tomb Raider Anniversary (2007)

It is a remake of the game tomb raider The original from 1996, this game once again sees Lara striving to find Scion of Atlantis. With the redesign of the puzzles and physics, however, the game saw a shift from collecting items and swiping switches (both of which were prevalent in the original title), to puzzles based on physics and environmental elements.

2. Tomb Raider: Legend (2006)

This game is a re-launch and re-imagination of Lara’s origin story, as she sets out across the world in search of the legendary sword Excalibur Desperate to find him before her ex-boyfriend Amanda Everett can get to him before her.

3. Tomb Raider: Underworld (2008)

In the third part of the trilogy, titled Underworld, we see Lara searching for the Mjolnir, which is an ancient key to the mortal realm of Helheim. Lara explores the ruins of different cultures and mythical worlds, and once again encounters the evil Natla, who is also searching for Mjolnir.

Third Timeline – Survivor Trilogy

1683309428 508 How to play Tomb Raider games in chronological order

1. Tomb Raider (2013)

The trilogy introduces a bolder new take on Lara Croft, as her first expedition to find a kingdom fails. Yamatai Lost and stuck on a secluded and hostile island. And to face a clan Solarii BrotherhoodShe must stop the ascension ritual as well as prevent the selection of the successor of the legendary, bloodthirsty Sun Queen.

2. Rise of the Tomb Raider (2015)

Lara explores Rise of the Tomb Raider Siberia in search of a city Kitezh Legendary while fighting the organization Trinity Paramilitaries who constantly clash with Lara. While both rush to rediscover KitezhWill the kingdom’s immortal guards be revealed The Deadless Ones About themselves to be more than a myth?

3. Shadow of the Tomb Raider (2018)

In the third and final installment of the Survivor trilogy, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, we see Lara travel across the Americas to find the city of Paititi before the Mayan apocalypse devours the entire planet. With the monstrous Yaaxii and the Trinity organization pursuing her non-stop, will she succeed before it’s too late?

How do you play all Tomb Raider games According to the release date

  • Tomb Raider (1996)
  • Tomb Raider II (1997)
  • Tomb Raider III (1998)
  • Tomb Raider: The Last Revelation (1999)
  • Tomb Raider (2000 Game Boy Color)
  • Tomb Raider Chronicles (2000)
  • Tomb Raider: Curse of the Sword (2001 Game Boy Color)
  • Tomb Raider: The Prophecy (GBA, 2002)
  • Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness (2003)
  • Tomb Raider: Legend (2006)
  • Tomb Raider: Anniversary (2007)
  • Tomb Raider: Underworld (2008)
  • Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light (2010)
  • Tomb Raider (2013)
  • Lara Croft and the Temple of Osiris (2014)
  • Lara Croft: Relic Run (2015)
  • Lara Croft Go (2015)
  • Rise of the Tomb Raider (2015)
  • Shadow of the Tomb Raider (2018)

What’s next for the Tomb Raider series?

Inc revealed Crystal Dynamics during an event State of Unreal In April 2022 that the game development process tomb raider A completely new one has begun. While details are still scarce, it has confirmed that it will use an engine Unreal Engine 5It will be published by the company Amazon Games. revealed Crystal Dynamics Also across Twitter that this adventure “will continue the Lara Croft saga,” which may indicate that instead of making a Robot, this new game could be a continuation of the trilogy. survivor that ended with Shadow of the Tomb Raider 2018.

Translated by Dima Muhanna

The author of what'snew2day.com is dedicated to keeping you up-to-date on the latest news and information.

Latest stories