Google Photos adds a locked folder for your private pictures

0

Google is introducing a new feature in Google Photos that allows you to hide specific images so they don’t appear in your photo feed or in other apps. The feature, called Locked Folder, puts any sensitive images you’d rather not share behind a password.

In its I / O presentation, Google used the example of parents trying to keep a puppy purchase a secret from their kids – although the feature should be useful for sensitive images you don’t want to share with others. It’s easy to see how this feature can be useful: who hasn’t given their phone to someone to show one or two photos, and suddenly realized, “Wow, I hope they aren’t too far to the left or scroll right “? Locked Folder helps Photos users avoid that fear by keeping any sensitive photos you have on the service out of your main feed.

Google says the feature will launch on Pixels first, but will come to more Android phones throughout the year. Similar features are already available through third-party apps, and many Samsung users already have access to one Secure Folder function included on some Galaxy phones.