FIFA 'The Best' Women's player: Lucy Bronze and Ellen White in the running

Lucy Bronze and Ellen White in the running for FIFA ‘The Best’ Women’s player of the year award… but are up against US World Cup rivals Alex Morgan and Meghan Rapinoe


England Women’s stars Lucy Bronze and Ellen White have been named amongst the 12 nominees for FIFA’s ‘The Best’ Player of the Year award.

The England duo both starred at this summer’s World Cup as the Lionesses finished fourth after being knocked out at the semi-final stage by eventual winners USA and then beaten by Holland in the third-place play-off.

White finished joint-top scorer with six goals at the tournament but missed out on the Golden Boot award by goal-to-minute ratio while Bronze received the Silver Ball for her performances in France.


USA star Meghan Rapinoe pipped both Bronze and White to the Golden Boot and Golden Ball awards at the World Cup and, unsurprisingly, has also been named alongside the 12 candidates for the Best FIFA’s Women’s Player of the Year Award.

Her international team-mate Alex Morgan, who also netted six times during the tournament in France, including one in the semi-final against England, joins her in the running for the prestigious award.


(In no particular order)

1. Lucy Bronze – England & Lyon

2. Julie Ertz – USA & Chicago Red Stars

3. Caroline Graham Hansen – Norway & Wolfsburg 

4. Ada Hegerberg – Norway & Lyon


5. Amandine Henry – France & Lyon

6. Sam Kerr – Australia & Chicago Red Stars

7. Rose Lavelle – USA & Washington Spirit

8. Vivianne Miedema – Holland & Arsenal

9. Alex Morgan – USA & Orlando Pride


10. Megan Rapinoe – USA & Reign FC

11. Wendie Renard – France & Lyon

12. Ellen White – England & Manchester City

The 12-woman shortlist for The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2019 award – which was compiled by a panel of experts in Women’s football – is based on their respective achievements during the period from 25 May 2018 to 7 July 2019.

Other key members of the USA World Cup winning squad have also been selected with Rose Lavelle and Julie Ertz nominated.


The 2018 Ballon d’Or winner, Ada Hegerberg, is also on the list after winning a famous treble with Lyon last season.

Arsenal striker Vivianne Miedema, who won the Women’s Super League and finished last season as the top scorer and PFA Player of the Year, is also up for the coveted gong. 

Australia’s Sam Kerr, French duo Wendie Renard and Amadine Henry and Norwegian star Caroline Graham Hansen complete the list of nominees.

Fans can have a say by casting their votes for their three top players while journalists, national team coaches and captains will also be picking who they believe deserves to win the award.

The winner will be revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards show in Milan on September 23.