Celiac woman reveals the surprising things that are actually NOT gluten-free

0

A blogger with celiac disease has revealed the surprising things that aren’t actually gluten-free, from oats to Twizzlers to some brands of sunscreen.

Gabby, who runs a blog called Not a gluten guru, shares gluten-free tips, recipes and reviews TikTok, and recently shared two videos of various surprising items that may contain gluten.

In addition to a few unlikely foods that contain gluten, the US-based social media user has also consumed several inedible products that contain it – and this could pose a threat to those with allergies.

Diet: Gabby, the gluten-free guru, suffers from celiac disease, which affects the body's ability to absorb nutrients from food and can cause painful and uncomfortable symptoms

Diet: Gabby, the gluten-free guru, suffers from celiac disease, which affects the body’s ability to absorb nutrients from food and can cause painful and uncomfortable symptoms

Who knows?  On TikTok, she shared some unexpected things she learned are gluten-free, like oats - which can be mixed with wheat before they even leave the ground

Who knows?  On TikTok, she shared some unexpected things she learned are gluten-free, like oats - which can be mixed with wheat before they even leave the ground

Who knows? On TikTok, she shared some unexpected things she learned are gluten-free, like oats – which can be mixed with wheat before they even leave the ground

No!  Soy sauce is not gluten-free

No!  Soy sauce is not gluten-free

She did, however, point out the Tamari brand, which makes a gluten-free variant

She did, however, point out the Tamari brand, which makes a gluten-free variant

No! Soy sauce is not gluten-free. She did, however, point out the Tamari brand, which makes a gluten-free variant

Neither!  Surprisingly, twizzlers aren't gluten-free either

Neither!  Surprisingly, twizzlers aren't gluten-free either

Neither! Surprisingly, twizzlers aren’t gluten-free either

Precious metal cubes are not gluten-free

Precious metal cubes are not gluten-free

Fries should always be monitored as they may be cross-contaminated

Fries should always be monitored as they may be cross-contaminated

Check this out! Precious metal cubes are not gluten-free. French fries, meanwhile, should always be monitored as there may be cross-contamination

Most people think gluten-containing foods are all bread-based, but gluten – wheat proteins – can hide in other foods as well, especially those that can be subject to cross-contamination.

Such is the case for oats, which can be mixed with wheat before they even leave the ground.

“Oats aren’t actually gluten-free because of cross-contamination because they grow so close to wheat, so make sure you always buy one that says” Certified gluten-free, “says Gabby.

She also warns that Twizzlers, precious metal cubes, and soy sauce are not gluten-free. She did, however, point out the Tamari brand, which makes a gluten-free variant.

Burts Bees isn't actually gluten-free, and since it goes to your mouth, I wouldn't recommend it [using] 'says Gabby

Burts Bees isn't actually gluten-free, and since it goes to your mouth, I wouldn't recommend it [using] 'says Gabby

Burts Bees isn’t actually gluten-free, and since it goes to your mouth, I wouldn’t recommend it [using] ‘says Gabby

Stay out!  She cautions celiac viewers to avoid Nivea brand products and Play-Do

Stay out!  She cautions celiac viewers to avoid Nivea brand products and Play-Do

Stay out!  She cautions celiac viewers to avoid Nivea brand products and Play-Do

Stay out!  She cautions celiac viewers to avoid Nivea brand products and Play-Do

Stay out! She cautions celiac viewers to avoid Nivea brand products and Play-Do

Be careful!  Licking the sticky part of envelopes can pose a threat to people with a gluten allergy

Be careful!  Licking the sticky part of envelopes can pose a threat to people with a gluten allergy

Be careful! Licking the sticky part of envelopes can pose a threat to people with a gluten allergy

What Is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is a genetic autoimmune disease in which gluten causes damage in the small intestine inflammation that affects the body’s ability to absorb nutrients from food.

The condition is estimated to affect one in 100 people worldwide, with about three million Americans living with the disease.

There are over 200 symptoms, the most common of which is onebdominal bloating and pain, cchronic diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, weight loss and fatigue.

The only treatment for the disease is a strict gluten-free diet.

Source: Celiac Foundation

“ You also want to make sure chips are certified gluten-free before you buy them because of cross-contamination, ” she says.

In an Instagram post, she revealed that Chick-fil-a fries exceed the gluten-free threshold, as they are “ made in separate oil from their breaded chicken. ”

But many of the items Gabby lists are either inedible or not intended to be consumed at all.

For someone who avoids gluten for weight loss or because of a mild sensitivity, inedible products containing gluten aren’t a problem – but those who are allergic to gluten can have a serious reaction if exposed even a little bit.

She cautions celiac viewers to avoid licking the sticky part on envelopes, Nivea brand products, and Play-Doh, none of which are gluten-free.

Burts Bees isn’t actually gluten-free, and since it goes to your mouth, I wouldn’t recommend it [using] Gabby adds.

Then there are several brands that are not made with gluten, but are not certified gluten-free – and the companies caution that they cannot guarantee that there will be no trace of it in their products.

These include Nars, Banana Boat, Hawaiian Tropic, and Cetaphil.

Watch!  Several brands are not made with gluten, but are not certified gluten-free, like makeup from Nars

Watch!  Several brands are not made with gluten, but are not certified gluten-free, like makeup from Nars

Watch! Several brands are not made with gluten, but are not certified gluten-free, like makeup from Nars

Companies such as Banana Boat and Hawaiian Tropic warn that they cannot guarantee that there will be no trace of it in their products

Companies such as Banana Boat and Hawaiian Tropic warn that they cannot guarantee that there will be no trace of it in their products

Companies such as Banana Boat and Hawaiian Tropic warn that they cannot guarantee that there will be no trace of it in their products

Companies such as Banana Boat and Hawaiian Tropic warn that they cannot guarantee that there will be no trace of it in their products

Potential gluten: Companies such as Banana Boat and Hawaiian Tropic warn that they cannot guarantee there will be no trace of it in their products

Cetaphil writes, “Ingredients in our Cetaphil products are not recognized gluten sources;  However, Galderma does not test for traces of gluten that may be present '

Cetaphil writes, “Ingredients in our Cetaphil products are not recognized gluten sources;  However, Galderma does not test for traces of gluten that may be present '

Cetaphil writes, “Ingredients in our Cetaphil products are not recognized gluten sources; However, Galderma does not test for traces of gluten that may be present ‘

Shocking! Perhaps the most surprising source of gluten is drywall. “So if people are scouring and stuff, stay away,” says Gabby

On their website, Cetaphil writes, “Ingredients in our Cetaphil products are not recognized gluten sources; However, Galderma does not test for traces of gluten that may be present in the ingredients or as a result of the manufacturing process. In addition, suppliers can change ingredients. ‘

Gabby said she used the brand’s moisturizer, but had always had a rash – and since she gave up, the rash has gone.

Perhaps the most surprising source of gluten is drywall.

“So if people are scouring and stuff, stay away,” says Gabby.

Finally, she recommends that people check all of their medications and vitamins, as many can contain gluten.