- Australian tennis star disqualified for smashing ball at umpire
- Marc Polmans got angry after a direct error on a match point
- Click on HERE to listen to the latest episode of “It’s All Kicking Off” from Mail Sport
This is the shocking moment an Australian tennis player smashed the ball into the referee’s face during a match in China, leading to his immediate disqualification.
Marc Polmans failed to execute a backhand shot on match point in his qualifying match against Italian Stefano Napolitano in Shanghai.
The frustrated Australian viciously kicked the ball towards Scottish referee Ben Anderson, sitting just four meters away, hitting him in the face.
Not surprisingly, Polmans was fired and Napolitano was granted permission to participate in the tournament.
The world does not. Eliminating 140 by disqualification also means he will not take home any prizes or ranking points earned during his time in China, having won his first match against Alibek Kachmazov.
Australian tennis star disqualified from tournament for smashing ball in referee’s face in shocking scenes
Marc Polmans became angry after failing to convert a match point in Shanghai
Australian tennis star Nick Kyrgios reacted to the incident, asking how Polmans would be sanctioned
ATP rules state that players cannot hit a ball in anger, even if it does not hit an official.
“Players must not hit, kick or throw a tennis ball in a violent, dangerous or angrily manner while on the tournament site, except for the reasonable purpose of scoring a point during the tournament. ‘a match (including warm-up)’, the code of conduct states. .
“For the purposes of this rule, ball abuse is defined as intentionally or recklessly hitting a ball out of bounds, hitting a ball dangerously or recklessly inside the bounds, or hitting a ball without regard to the consequences . »
Polman’s fellow Australian Nick Kyrgios reacted to the incident on X, formerly known as Twitter.
“I’m interested to see what the fine will be,” he posted. Referring to one of his many fines, he added: “All things considered (15,000 pounds) for the bottle shake at Queens.”
The ATP must now determine the severity of the sanction imposed on Polmans and whether further action will be taken.
Novak Djokovic was disqualified from the 2020 US Open under similar circumstances after accidentally bumping into a linesman while expressing his frustrations.
“This whole situation has left me feeling really sad and empty,” he later wrote on Instagram.
“I checked with the linesman and the tournament told me that, thank God, she feels fine. I am extremely sorry for causing him such stress. So involuntary. So wrong. I am not disclosing his name to respect his privacy.
In 2017, Canadian Denis Shapovalov was excluded from the Davis Cup after hitting a ball in the referee’s eye during the draw between his country and Great Britain. The official had to undergo surgery following the incident.