Find the latest breaking news and information on the top stories, science, business, entertainment, politics, and more.

ATK Mohun Bagan vs. Bengaluru FC – Soccer Match Report – March 18, 2023 – ESPN

ATK Mohun Bagan won the 2022-23 Indian Super League, defeating Bengaluru FC on penalties (4-3), after the game ended 2-2 after extra time. Bruno Ramires and Pablo Pérez missed the decisive penalties for BFC, with Dimi Petratos, Sunil Chhetri and Roy Krishna finding the net in regulation time. This is the first ISL title for ATK Mohun Bagan in its new form, with ATK and Atlético de Kolkata winning three titles together. Sanjiv Goenka also announced that the club would be known as Mohun Bagan Super Giants in the future.

The final for Bengaluru FC started with a bad omen, as Sivasakthi Narayanan went off injured and was replaced by Sunil Chhetri in the fourth minute. As both teams adjusted to the change in personnel, there were a couple of half chances at both ends.

Simon Grayson’s night went from bad to worse after Roy Krishna drove into the box while challenging Ashique Kuruniyan with a header, with the referee awarding the penalty. Dimi Petratos stepped up and despite Gurpreet Singh Sandhu diving just the right way, the penalty was taken too well, giving ATK Mohun Bagan the lead on 14 minutes.

Juan Ferrando’s team underlined their confidence, forcing Gurpreet to make a couple of saves later, with a disorganized BFC attacking and defending. However, they remained a threat on set pieces, with Javi pulling a great save from Vishal Kaith, while Sandesh Jhingan headed in as he rose higher from a corner.

The drama of the final continued unabated, with Roy Krishna denying a penalty in the 35th minute after Pritam Kotal appeared to make contact while attempting a clearance. The referee dismissed Bengaluru’s appeals, but was in no doubt ten minutes later, signaling the spot in first-half stoppage time.

Subhasish Bose missed a clearance attempt and connected with Roy Krishna in the box, thus awarding a penalty. Chhetri stepped up, and with just one step up, guided the ball past Kaith, the ATKMB goalkeeper, who dove in the wrong direction, as both teams entered the half-time tier.

Both managers made changes at half-time, with Lalrinliana Hnamte and Pablo Pérez coming on for Glan Martins and Aleksandar Jovanovic. Ferrando made another substitution with Liston Colaco coming on for Ashique Kuruniyan in the 54th minute. Liston made an immediate impact, his long-range shot in the 60th minute forcing Gurpreet to make a save, but the rebound landed right on Petratos, who fired deflected with the goal open.

ATKMB continued their pressure, with Boumous volleying in just a few minutes later. Both teams faded as the half wore on, with set pieces the best avenue of attack. That proved to be the case in the 78th minute, when Roy Krishna plowed past Hnamte at the far post and headed in a corner. Bengaluru FC’s joy was short-lived, however, as Pérez conceded a penalty minutes later, beating Kiyan Nassiri from behind, although replays showed the foul started outside the box.

Petratos stomped again and although Gurpreet launched himself in the right direction, he couldn’t save his resounding penalty, making it 2-2 on 85′. As the game wound down, Chhetri nearly did the impossible with a header that went wide, while Prabir Das also cleared Petratos’ effort off the line, to ensure the game went to extra time.

Udanta Singh came on for Javi Hernández and headed in a Chhetri free-kick early in extra time. With both teams struggling to create, Rohit Kumar came closest with a shot from distance on 100 minutes.

However, both teams had great opportunities to take the lead in the second half of extra time, when Krishna finished off a high shot, jumping over a long pass from Perez. Manvir then came close to ATKMB, running into a beautifully floated cross from Petratos at the far post, but shot wide with the goal at his mercy.

The game seemed destined for penalties, but Gurpreet nearly gifted ATKMB victory with a Petratos knuckleball shot from distance just around the post. Thereafter the match went to penalties, with Alan Costa and Petratos sending impressive opening penalties for both sides. Krishna and Colaco continued their run of converted penalties, but Bruno had his shot saved by Vishal Kaith, the goalkeeper diving to his right. Kiyan Nassiri, Chhetri and Manvir converted their efforts, leaving Pablo Pérez with the pressure to score. The Spaniard beamed, thus confirming ATK Mohun Bagan’s victory and sparking scenes of celebration.