The referee has bottled it! That has to be a penalty ": Chris Sutton criticizes an official after Leicester is denied a clear penalty for handball against Arsenal
- Arsenal received Leicester in the Emirates in the Premier League on Monday night
- The Foxes looked dangerous in the first half and should have won a penalty.
- Rob Holding drove Jamie Vardy's header after a free kick in the box
Spencer Morgan for Mailonline
Chris Sutton has beaten referee Chris Kavanagh after the official was unable to award a penalty to Leicester after a shameless hand of Rob Holding during his clash with Arsenal on Monday night.
The Foxes seemed the most dangerous side from the start and should have had a golden opportunity to take the lead when the ball met Holding's raised hand as he jumped for a header with Kelechi Iheanacho.
However, Kavanagh, who was in the perfect position, made gestures with manager Clause Puel and his players with an absolutely furious look.
Rob Holding (right) handles the ball while jumping with Leicester striker Kelechi Iheanacho.
The referee did not point out the point even though the ball made a clear contact with his raised hand.
And former Celtic striker Sutton could not believe the decision.
The referee has bottled it! That has to be a penalty, "he said in BBC Radio 5 live.
"We're a long way off, but it was quite obvious, Claude Puel is furious, that's an absolute shock." Rob Holding tapped the ball with his hand.
Chris Sutton could not believe that the referee did not award a penalty to the visitor side
& # 39; The referee has a lot to answer. He is a pretty young referee, but you have to handle the big occasions.
Sky Sports commentator Alan Smith agreed and said: "It's a punishment." & # 39; (Has a) great view to the referee & # 39;
It was a big disappointment for the Gunners with Holding who picked up a yellow card minutes before.